Saturday, January 27, 2018

The Gray Locke Series Has Not Been Forgotten!

Far from it.

Over the past seven years, I've been asked, Whatever happened with your Gray Locke book series?! You released the first book, made the front cover of your local newspaper, had a reading and book signing event. Then, the next year, you released the second book. And then you had the first draft of the third story nearly finished. What happened?

I just needed some time off and then some, because life. The ebb and flow of life's tide had strengthened to tidal wave forces, beginning in April 2011, that created a dark tsunami over my existence. And I was overwhelmed, to say the least. I felt I needed to be in the right frame of mind to continue with Gray's story. So I was forced to put it aside.

With the Gray Locke series, being what it is—a multimedia concept—I had to prepare other elements that fit in with future stories. And that, too, takes time.

Time has a way of eluding us. But time also has a way of showing us what's really important in our lives. And Gray Locke's story is very important for me to create, and to share his story with all of you.

I created the first Gray Locke website back on November 30, 2011. But I was never satisfied with it. (Nor my own personal website.) So, now I am revitalizing both of our internet presences. And I am pleased with how they look so far. Just look at the comparison below!

Original Gray Locke Website Home Page

New Gray Locke Website Home Page
I decided to return to the blog (the Gray Locke Portal) and use it as the hub. Everything you need to know about Gray Locke, you'll find right here. I am happy with the new layout and design. Finally. 

So, as I continue to make some more tweaks to the website, and continue work on the third book (and some bonus material), let's wish Gray a Happy Birthday!


~C.A. Chicoine

Sunday, May 8, 2011

Interview with C.A. Chicoine, author of the Gray Locke series.

Author’s Dialogue: An interview with Visionary Fiction author C.A.Chicoine, by author Terre Britton.

TB: I am pleased to be joined today by the accomplished American writer Craig Chicoine—author of the Gray Locke series. Welcome, Craig. Please tell us about the Gray Locke series.

CAC: The Gray Locke series is a modern day hero’s journey, the intellectual and spiritual sort. Ten books are planned, each representing a turning point in Gray’s life. The reader will be able to watch the characters develop and grow over several stories, before coming to the final book in the series, where Gray will perform his heroic deed, completing the hero-cycle.

The series begins with the lead character, Grayson Locke, at the age of ten. In the first book, The Mystery of the Weeping Rocks, the reader learns firsthand about Gray’s wild imagination as he goes about investigating what weeping rocks are during his summer vacation at his grandparent’s house. This is a chapter book ideal for children 7-11 years old. It’s more or less an introduction to the character. However, there is something of great significance that occurs in this story that is expanded upon and further developed in the following books.

The second book, The Witch of Clover Hill, takes place the following autumn at his house. This book is ideal for children 9-12 years old. In this story, much more is revealed about the character and his extraordinary set of circumstances.

The next book, Giants of the Vale, takes place back at his grandparent’s. Gray is thirteen years old in this story. I am currently working on this story, as well as the next one. Obviously, I’ll not be covering every year of his life over ten books. But I hope to select the points in his life that best illustrate what influenced him to make the choices and decisions he’d later make in the final story.

More of the interview at the following link:

Monday, March 14, 2011


Here is the news - an update on the Gray Locke series

The book giveaway for Gray Locke: The Witch of Clover Hill has ended. There were 972 requests -- five winners. Congratulations to those who won!

There have been no reviews of The Witch of Clover Hill yet. Hopefully, the giveaway at Goodreads will spawn some.

I am also looking into having the first book, (The Mystery of the Weeping Rocks), available as an eBook. More on that as it develops.

After a respite from writing the third book of the Gray Locke series, I've returned to it with a fresh mind. I wish I could tell you when it'll be ready, but it's a process that has its own timetable.

What I can tell you is the title of the third book -- Gray Locke: Giants of the Vale. The setting is the same as in the first book -- Western Massachusetts. And, Gray is thirteen years old. I am very excited about it, and can't wait to release it!

I have also been stirring the broth for the fourth book, (that has been on the back burner since before the first book), adding an ingredient every-so-often. I am very excited about this one too, and I can't wait to work full-time on it! :)

That's all for now!


~ Craig

Friday, February 11, 2011

The Gray Locke Portal @ USTREAM

The Gray Locke Portal

Live streaming video by Ustream

Q&A with author C.A. Chicoine about the Gray Locke book series.

*** Date and time to be determined. ***

Thursday, February 10, 2011

The Gray Locke Puzzle for the computer.

The Gray Locke Puzzle, as featured in "The My

stery of the Weeping Rocks", for the computer.

It's free! Just click on the link to download the self-extracting puzzle. :)

Click here!

Friday, February 4, 2011

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Q&A with C.A. Chicoine

Join author C.A. Chicoine as he discusses the first two books of the Gray Locke series, "The Mystery of the Weeping Rocks" and "The Witch of Clover Hill."

This Q&A will run February 4, 2011 - May 8, 2011.